Skip to Content

What is the Sanskrit word for desire?

The Sanskrit word for ‘desire’ is ‘Kama’, which is derived from the verb root ‘Kam’ meaning ‘to love’ or ‘to wish for’. Kama is one of the four goals of life in Hinduism, the other three being Dharma (duty), Artha (prosperity) and Moksha (liberation).

Kama is focused on fulfilling all desires of the senses, including physical and sexual pleasure. This includes activities such as playing sports, dancing, and enjoying art, music and fragrance. Kama is meant to be explored within a framework of ethical values, such as maintaining monogamy, eliminating violence and embracing kindness.

Kama is seen as a part of the full experience of life, and can be considered as an opening of the mind and heart on the path to higher truths.

What is attraction called in Sanskrit?

In Sanskrit, attraction is called आकर्षण (ākarshana). It is derived from the root word आकृष्ट (ākr̥shta), which itself has its basis in the Sanskrit noun आकृत्मा (ākr̥tmā), meaning “desire” or “delight”.

The attraction is sometimes associated with the Sanskrit word श्रुति (śrutī) which is the feminine form of a different verb form from the same root. The literal translation of śrutī is “lovely”, but it can also mean “attractive” or “magnetic” in a more metaphorical sense.

In terms of etymology, the word for attraction has its origins in several other Sanskrit words: अकृष्ट (akr̥shta) which means “gravitation towards”; आकृत्या (ākr̥tyā) meaning “desire”; and आकृत्म्य (ākr̥tmya), which means “force of attraction”.

All these terms are related and can be used to describe the concept of attraction in Sanskrit.

What is the meaning of trishna?

Trishna is a Sanskrit word with various meanings in different contexts. Generally, it is understood to mean “thirst” or “desire,” specifically referring to one’s spiritual longing or craving for union with the divine.

This longing is often experienced as a deep inner yearning for direct experience of the divine, and can express itself in practice such as prayer and meditation, engaging in service to others, or devotional ceremonies.

As part of the philosophy of Sankhya, trishna is seen as a species of avidya, or ignorance, which is the underlying cause of suffering. Through purifying or overcoming this ignorance or desire, one can achieve liberation or moksha.

In yogic philosophy, trishna is often seen as a potent source of inspiration and illumination, leading one to ever-deepening spiritual realization.

How do you say love in Sanskrit?

In Sanskrit, the word for love is “Sneha”. Sneha is a Sanskrit term for affection and deep, tender love. It is derived from the Sanskrit root “sneh” or “sna” which means to press, to squeeze, to hug, caress or to embrace.

Sometimes Sneha is also translated to mean mercy, kindness, fondness, and even love making. Traditionally, Sneha is seen as a way of connecting with the divine and expressing gratitude, devotion, and love to the divine.

It is an attitude that is based in love, which includes all aspects of life, not just romantic love. Therefore Sneha is a beautiful expression of the different shades of love that exist in life.

What are some spiritual words?

Spiritual words are those related to an individual’s sense of soul and purpose in life. They often refer to a connectedness to something greater than the physical self, and can be a source of tremendous strength and grounding.

Common spiritual words include:

• Abundance – having an overflowing supply of something valuable; being blessed with blessings

• Balance – having one’s internal energies in balance, leading to peace and stability

• Clarity – having a clear understanding of something, seeing it in its true light

• Compassion – having an open heart and understanding of another’s struggles

• Contentment – being satisfied with the way things are and being free from worry and restlessness

• Gratitude – an attitude of appreciation for everything you have and all the blessings in your life

• Holistic – perceiving reality from an interconnected perspective; understanding the bigger picture

• Inner peace – achieving a peaceful, serene state of being, letting go of inner turmoil

• Intention – a conscious plan or direction; setting one’s focus and following through

• Mercy – compassion, tolerance, and forgiveness

• Purpose – having a sense of direction and meaning in life

• Renewal – undergoing transformation or revival; taking time to restore balance and energy

• Service – being generous and helpful to others; being of assistance to those in need

• Unity – togetherness, connection, and harmony; viewing yourself and your experiences as a part of a whole

What is the Sanskrit word that means spirit person self and also describes the primordial being from whose body the universe was created?

The Sanskrit word for “spirit person self” and “primordial being from whose body the universe was created” is Brahman. Brahman is a term within Hinduism which refers to the one Supreme Being, Cosmic Spirit, and Ultimate Reality that underlies the manifest universe.

It is the eternal, unchanging, infinite, and immanent reality which is the Divine Ground of all being. It is the source of all material and non-material reality, and ever pervades the entire universe.